Journal Entry #1

My relationship with fairy tales has been closely tied in with Disney. Growing up like most girls at the time I watched the traditional Disney princess movies, some based on fairy tales and folk lores – Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Pocahontas, Sleeping Beauty, Mulan, Beauty and the Beast, and Cinderella. As I got older I learned that many of these Disney movies based on fairy tales didn’t always have a happy ending, and ended up reading a few of Grimm’s and Hans Christian Andersen’s original fairy tales.

While I still have a nostalgic feeling towards the fairy tale Disney movies of my childhood, I haven’t had a huge interest in the more recent Disney movies – Frozen, Brave, Tangled, Moana. I think that is partly because they are targeted for child audiences more than adult. I also began to notice as I got older the stereotype of all these princesses kind of being damsels in distress or always projecting an image of perfect beauty and Disney white-washing these movies. That to me is a major difference between Disney tales and originals like Grimm.

As I’ve mentioned I’m fairly familiar with Disney fairy tales, and have read a few of the original tales, but I still don’t feel like I know a lot about the origin of fairy tales nor lesser-known tales. I’m hoping this class will broaden my knowledge of fairy tales and explain more of their history.

One thought on “Journal Entry #1

  1. I’ve found that after looking through Grimm, many of the stories sound like they could’ve evolved into the newer fairy tales that parents read to their children before bed. It’s amazing to me how much different fairy tales are today from way back when. I wonder why adults don’t still read the fairy tales that are not aimed towards children. At what point did the transition happen from fairy tales being for adults to strictly children?
    I watched many of the Disney princess movies, but I was more of a Lion King kid. I never really got hooked on the princess thing, but I know of many kids that did. It seemed as though young girls wanted so badly to be a princess, and most parents wanted that for their child as well. However, the unrealistic dream that played over and over in the young girls minds is perhaps a reason they feel the need to look perfect on a daily basis and refuse to leave the house without makeup.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

