Journal Entry 5 – Fairy Tale Art

While I was searching for fairy tale art, I came across a Huffington Post article about Natalie Frank’s art and Feminism in Grimm’s tales. Priscilla Frank writes, “Frank’s visual interpretations of the 19th century lore contain all the unabashed hunger and gritty detail of their source material, depicting remarkable moments from a selection of stories in forms more deliciously horrifying than most imaginations could conjure.”

One of the pieces featured in this article was “All Fur”, a Grimm tale I read and related to Deerskin, a novel which I am currently reading for my Twice Told Tales class.  I picked this piece because I found it really interesting that the first painting that caught my eye was in relation to something that I’m in the middle of reading. I noticed the way All Fur’s face is split between human and animal, and a small space of blue in between. I was interested by how the animal can’t be distinctly identified, but rather it looks beastly as described in the Grimm tale.

o-ALL-900

All Fur III, 2011-14 Gouache and chalk pastel on Arches paper, 22 x 30 inches (55.9 x 76.2 cm). Courtesy of the artist.

 

Leave a Reply

