Hans Christian Andersen

Reading about Hans Christian Andersen’s life was very interesting to me because I did not know much about him before this highly detailed bibliography. Like many, he grew up poor and struggled to be accepted into high culture because of his class. I can’t imagine being told that because I was poor I wouldn’t be able to write creatively. I also feel bad for him because of the horrors his headmaster put him through. Stories like this make me grateful for modern education in the U.S. because compared to back in the 19th century, students are not nearly as often told that they cannot do what they aspire to do. Unfortunately it still happens, but not as much.

Leave a Reply

